Frequently asked questions
What happens if I’ve been falsely accused of domestic violence?
Unfortunately, false domestic violence accusations happen every day in California. The problem is, law enforcement have to take accusations very seriously, even when they are false. Little to no physical evidence is required to make an accusation, and claims are easily exaggerated.
Given the serious consequences to you and your family, you have to protect yourself and proceed carefully. This is where an experienced Santa Ana domestic violence lawyer can make sure a bad incident doesn’t turn out to be a disaster.
Here are the best domestic violence attorney legal defenses.
What are the penalties for misdemeanor and felony criminal charges?
A Santa Ana conviction will follow California’s basic sentencing laws. Your case is unique, and many factors will dictate the penalties. But a general rule of thumb is:
- Infractions are punished with a fine.
- Misdemeanors can result in a sentence of 1 year or less in jail with possible fine.
- Felonies are more serious, and you may be facing prison time, which varies based on the crime and the judge’s discretion.
If you’re facing a third serious or violent felony, your case falls under California’s Three Strikes sentencing law, which is a mandatory sentence of 25 years to life.
California enacted many new criminal justice reforms in 2021 that affect sentencing and provide for automatic erasing of criminal records after certain conditions are met.
I’m pleading guilty, do I still need a lawyer?
A criminal defense attorney in Santa Ana will ensure that you receive a fair sentence and can negotiate for an alternative sentence on your behalf. It’s always advised to discuss your options with a qualified attorney who may be able to dispute the charge or convince the prosecutor and judge to lower the punishment you will face.
The District Attorney’s standard plea offer is rarely the best you can achieve with an expert criminal defense attorney arguing for you.